St. Francis of Assisi – School Blog

Learning and growing together in God's love.

Lake District Blog by Megan and Criscelle

on December 9, 2019

Ullswater Blog

A few weeks ago, Year 6 went on a very fun trip to Ullswater and we had a lot of fun there. We did many challenges and learnt many things with the help of our lovely instructors. We all did many activities and learnt multiple skills while doing some extremely difficult challenges and activities and a few people (including us) got over some skills throughout our course.

Activities:

  • Jog ‘n’ Dip
  • Hiking up a Mountain
  • Tunneling
  • Gorge Walking
  • Rock climbing

Most activities were fun, such as: Gorge walking, Rock climbing, Jog ‘n’ Dip and climbing up a wall. These are the reasons we find these specific activities enjoyable:

Both of our opinions:

Gorge Walking was fun because we improved on our supporting skills and encouraging each other. It was also fun because our communication was much better than the day we arrived and we were much more comfortable with each other and all our team.

Criscelle’s thoughts:

Rock climbing was also fun because at first I was nervous, scared and really dreading to do the activity and I did feel that way on the first try but once I learnt the techniques on what to do, I really enjoyed it and I climbed further than I could imagine.

Megan’s thoughts:

Before it was my turn to climb, I was really nervous but once I did it, I was proud of myself for how high I went. When we went the 2nd time, I was really confident in myself and I went even higher! By the end I wanted to do it again because I found it really fun.

Overall, this trip was really fun and we both enjoyed it a lot. Each day we did something enjoyable and learned something new. Our comfort zones have expanded entirely and we are very grateful for joining in on the journey. It was an incredible experience.

By Megan and Criscelle


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar