St. Francis of Assisi – School Blog

Learning and growing together in God's love.

The Lake District Extravaganza! Julia and Hasini.

on November 26, 2017

When we first arrived, the staff at the Outward Bound Centre greeted us and told us the rules, then told us where our dorms were.  After we had put our things away, we went downstairs and the staff sorted us into groups and I was put in ‘Team Huston’.

Soon after we had begun our activity, gorge climbing.  Next, they showed us the equipment that we needed for our activity. At first I thought it was easy, but as we got higher it became difficult and the rocks were slippery.   I slipped on a rock and then, I either badly hurt my thumb or I’ve bent my thumb.  As we got even higher, we had to use the Roman handshake and spotting (it’s where we help people up at knee-height).  We learnt this straight before we started climbing.

 We also learnt that ‘wetter is better and light is right ‘.  The first part that says ‘ wetter is better ‘ means the wet parts on the gorge and the second part that says ‘ light is bright ‘ means the lighter rocks are the best ones to step on and the darker ones are really slippery.   We finally got to the hardest part, the scrambling.  The instructor got a long, sturdy rope because it was really slippery and steep to climb.  The first part was easy, but it got harder.  We got into pairs (I was with Harry) and then we waded in, then started climbing some more.   I then started going the wrong way.   At last I got to the top of the gorge, I nearly collapsed on the grass and I was shivering, then we started to walk to the mini-bus.  After we had come back to the cage, we put our wetsuits and the other resources away, then went to our dorms.  I realised in my dorm, that the boots had scratched my feet.  I put some plasters on my feet and headed down.

As this is the end of my blog I’m going to say bye!!!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar