St. Francis of Assisi – School Blog

Learning and growing together in God's love.

Lake District – Nightline by JT.

on November 16, 2017

At the 1st of November, at 8pm I met up with my group – the Johnsons.  Kim and Sam – our instructors – told us we would be doing something called “Nightline”.   Standing in a circle, Kim told us that we would be playing  a game called “Shepherd and Sheep” to test our communication skills.  As the adults left us, we decided that I should be shepherd first.  Everybody – except me – had to wear a blindfold and lead them away in different directions.  After that, I had to lead  everyone to a circle without speaking a word.  When I tapped each person’s  head they knew they had to move.   I gently pushed and and steered them from the back.  Once I got  them into the circle, I tapped them again on the head to indicate that the person needed to stop.  Even though the plan worked, it took a long time and Kim called it to a stop to change the plan. We came up with the idea of clapping and the sheep following the sound. This time Rose was the shepherd and the clap strategy worked well.

As soon as we finished, Kim gave all of us blindfolds and spray-painted safety goggles. We had to wear safety goggles to keep plants and branches out of our eyes and they were spray-painted so we couldn’t see if our blindfolds failed. We put our arms on the shoulders of the person in front of us. Worried but excited, I trooped forwards, following the person in front of me. Before long, we got to the first obstacle: a small tunnel.  I tried to squeeze through but I got scared and went by a different route.  After being led by a stick, I rejoined with my group and we were led by rope too.  We had to step over a rock, climb a small hill and keep together or else we wouldn’t know where to go.  As we got back to the centre, we were allowed to take our blindfolds off.  I felt really proud and we had a quick talk before we were dismissed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar